Dependent Origination

Possession

Posted on: June 23, 2009

possession

This is a book that needs a little patience. I decide to go back and read the poems if I find myself back to the bookshelf. Other than that, the letters are engaging and it is very admirable that Byatt creates so much material, Victorian letters, poems and diaries, to illustrate her characters. It really draws people in. Every letter, poem or diary gives vivid impression about the person behind it. The fact that they are actually all written by a single person someitmes escapes my mind. I would have thought they were all real artifacts. In truth, I had to double check to make sure the famous Victorian poet the story revolves around was not a real historical figure.

The story is two fold: one love story in Victorian times, disguised in manners and letters; another love story in the current times, hidden behind insecurities, fear of rejection and yet-to-be-acquired ability to be happy. It is hard to say who is luckier.

Another thing that is touching me is the many observations littered around the book. Here and there, something about love. Some other things about obsession. About writing or becoming a poet. I have loved a collection of short stories by her: The Little Black Book of Stories. I will keep reading her. She is fascinating.

I finished reading The Little Black Book of Stories in the shopping center near my university, during my visit back to the school while preparing for my thesis defense. It was a Shanghai restaurant newly moved closer to the school. I think after the lunch i walked around the shopping center and discovered a yarn store. In fact, I used to live very close to the shopping center for my last year and walked to the public library while it was temporarily there. There would be so many tiny little details coming up about my past life and I cannot stop.

Tags: ,

1 Response to "Possession"

[…] Beatrice的这个部分呢,和Possession太像了。 还有一个像的小说,Spring Moon。 […]

Leave a Reply

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Twitter

  • is reflecting on the past three years and reading the article on divided self aptly showing up at the top of my tweeter feed. 5 months ago
  • is having a nice feeling of connecting dots all over the place. they are now illuminating the same point. 6 months ago
  • Style Transfer is fun! TensorFlow rocks! #WTM17 https://t.co/zYP0IFIDfp 8 months ago
  • couldn't get over the jetlag, sleeping during the day from seven to four, for days. 10 months ago
  • is emptying trash and happily discovering the available disk space now ranks at 100G+. 11 months ago

Flickr Photos

